# PRINCIPALS: Please Share These Minutes with Your Athletic Director Regular Meeting of PIAA District VI – May 10, 2023

**Call to Order** of the May 10, 2023 meeting, Chairman Marshall called the meeting of the District VI Committee to order at 3:30 p.m. at Penn Cambria High School.

*Present* - Ralph Cecere, Chuck Gojmerac, Dane Harrold, Michael Hudak, Deanna Jubeck, Susan Kovensky, Stacy Kuster, Travis Lee, Tish Maclay, William Marshall, Jacquelyn Mento, Jody Rainey, Timothy Regan, Phil Riccio, and Stephen Shutters.

Absent - Michael Cacciotti, Tina Greene, Jeffrey Miller, Molly Pomeroy-Hoover, Richard Schreier, Cullen Stokes, and Curtis Whitesel.

Others present - Chris Rickens.

**Public Comments** - There were no public comments.

## **Approval of Minutes**

On a motion by Sue Kovensky and Dane Harrold, the minutes from the April 20, 2023 meeting were unanimously approved.

## **Financial Reports**

On a motion by Chuck Gojmerac and Tish Maclay, the Committee unanimously approved the District VI Monthly Financial Report for April.

#### **Old Business**

William Marshall noted that due to attendance, the Committee will complete the Committee Assignments at the June meeting.

#### **New Business**

**Review of Disqualifications** – Michael Hudak provided a handout and updated the Committee of three disqualifications that took place since April's Committee meeting, one coach and two players, none of which were supplemental disqualifications. Mr. Hudak also noted that out of the twenty-eight disqualifications this year, nine of those were from junior high and out of the fifty-two last year, only five were junior high, suggesting that this might be something to address.

## **Eligibility Transfers**

**Eligibility was granted** to the following students, with principal signoffs avowing that no athletic intent existed by both sending and receiving schools:

Name	Gr.	Transfer	Sport(s)	Motion
Heaven Thomas	10	Harrisburg to Mifflin County	Track	Riccio, Kuster
*Ineligible for Spring spo	rts due to ti	ransfer date		

## **Ineligible in Wrestling for 1 Year:**

Brady Myers 9 North Star to Bishop McCort Football, Wrestling, Baseball Riccio, Kuster

On a motion by Michael Hudak and Jody Rainey, the Committee elected William Marshall as Chairman, Ralph Cecere as Vice Chairman, and Curtis Whitesel as Secretary.

William Marshall discussed eligibility for members of compounds in all sports, membership dues for the 2023-2024 school year, and Lacrosse with the Committee.

The Committee conversed on schedule flexibility for school sponsored activities and on what activities such as prom, award ceremonies, and graduation would be acceptable to change championship dates and how possible schedule changes should be approved by both team principals.

On a motion by Dane Harrold and Charles Gojmerac, the Committee unanimously approved the co-op between Bishop Carroll and Bishop McCort in junior high football for the 2023-2024 school year.

## **Individual Sports Report**

On a motion by Travis Lee and Jody Rainey, the Committee unanimously approved the wrestling report as presented by Phil Riccio.

#### Communication

William Marshall conversed on the increase for official stipends to be further discussed and finalized prior to Fall championships. Mr. Marshall also discussed banking decisions with the Committee and the possible upcoming presentation in June.

Tish Maclay commented on championship venues with the Committee. L

Ralph Cecere notified the Committee of the Hometown ticketing report for basketball that sold over 27,000 tickets this year and that the final reports will be available in June.

Michael Hudak informed the Committee that the golf championships for the 2023-2024 school year have been updated on the District VI website, that includes Regionals AA and AAA will be held at Treasure Lake.

Jody Rainey discussed District VI apparel with the Committee and that those who have not yet responded must do so.

## **The Next Meeting**

The District VI Committee will meet on Monday, June 12, 2023, at the Ebensburg Country Club at 9:30 a.m.

# Adjournment

With no further business to come before the Committee, Susan Kovensky moved, and Tish Maclay seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting at 4:20 p.m.